To Read Pile: May Edition

I’m so wonderfully exited for May! Once I slog through finals week, I’ll be graduating and starting my summer. Finally, I’ll have lots and lots of free time with which to read. So you can be sure to find me picking through the shelves at my local library.

My list of books for what I hope to get read this month is actually quite long so I’m just going to feature a few that have floated to the top of the pile.

Books I’m Finishing:

1- “The Radium Girls” by Kate Moore

If you haven’t heard of the tragedy of The Radium Girls, then I suggest you do a quick Google Search and learn. Kate Moore has done a fantastic job of breaking down the history through a strong narrative that presents each girl has a human being. Expect to see a full-review this month.

2- “She Wields a Pen: American Women Poets of the Nineteenth Century” edited by Janet Gray

I’m not a poetry person at all, but since April was national Poetry Month I tried to read some poems. This collection from American Women Poets has been quite enjoyable, but not enjoyable enough to make me love poetry.

To Read Pile:

3- “Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End” by Atul Gawande

I loved When Breath Becomes Air so much (Read my review here). Being Mortal follows the same path as When Breath Becomes Air, and I’m excited to revisit the topic of the interface between medicine and death.

4- “The Gene: An Intimate History” by Siddhartha Mukherjee

I read Mukherjee’s other book, The Emperor of All Maladies over Christmas break and absolutely loved Mukherjee’s narrative style. I’m excited to read this book as well.

5- “Recollection of Full Years” by Helen Herron Taft

There’s nothing I love more than a good memoir, particularly when it is written by a first lady. Helen Taft’s memoir of her time in the White House is one I’ve been meaning to read for awhile.

6- “It” by Stephen King

Some friends and I will be reading It in preparation for the film that will be released in September.

Check out my “To Read Pile” shelf on Goodreads for updates and reviews of all of these books.

What will you be reading this month?

 

Leave a Reply

