My Favorite Podcasts

I love podcasts. Call me weird, but I find listening to people talk mesmerizing. I think I like the way their voices meld together. It is by far my preferred method of entertainment and receiving news partially because listening takes up so little of my attention. I can drive, read, do homework, or workout while I learn something, laugh, or catch up on the news.

One common theme I’ve noticed, is that people seem to be intimated when they open up their itunes or GooglePlay accounts. Choosing your favorite podcast really is not that daunting, you just have to start listening! But to take some of the guess work out, I’ve compiled this list of my five favorite.

1. The Happy Rant

The Happy Rant is probably my favorite podcast. Every week Ted Kluck, Barnabas Piper, and Ronnie Martin rant about both the important and unimportant. They are irreverent, hilarious, and honest as they deal with the most ridiculous things about our culture and the Church today. If you like sports, church-lingo, humor, and sarcasm this is the podcast for you.

Listen to The Happy Rant

Follow The Happy Rant

Twitter: @HappyRantPod

Facebook: @HappyRant

2. The West Wing Weekly

If you have never watched the Emmy-winning series, The West Wing, then you are truly missing out on some of the most amazing television ever made. I watched the entire series with my parents a couple years ago when we recorded everything via DVR as some obscure table channel was showing the entire series. Now its on Netflix so you have no excuse but to spend a couple weekends binge watching a lovely show.

If, like me, binge watching is not your thing take it slow and enjoy episode-by-episode commentary from The West Wing Weekly hosts Joshua Malina and Hrishikesh Hirway. One of the many things that makes this podcast magical is that Joshua Malina was actually a cast member of The West Wing in its final seasons. They digest and comment on one The West Wing episode during each The West Wing Weekly episode. Guest commentators who were involved with The West Wing a staple of the podcast, giving the listener a behind the scenes look.

Listen to The West Wing Weekly

Follow on Twitter: @WestWingWeekly

3. Left, Right, and Center

I recently started listening to Left, Right, and Center to get a grip on news. I wanted something that was unbiased and unflinching. I have gotten exactly what I wanted. The three hosts each embody the political views of the left, right, and center (where the podcast gets its name).

Listen to Left, Right, and Center 

Follow on Twitter: @LRCkcrw

4. The Briefing

For those who like their news with a Conservative Christian spin, then this is the right podcast. Dr. Albert Mohler is the President of Southern Baptist Theological Seminary and is considered one of the most influential evangelicals. He brings a Biblical perspective every story with his learned commentary. The tone is somber, but the quality is unmatched.

Listen to The Briefing

Follow on Twitter: @albertmohler 

5. Signposts with Russell Moore

Similar the The Briefing, Signposts brings the viewpoint of a younger Conservative Evangelical. Moore is the president of the ERLC, the executive branch of the Southern Baptist Convention. In his podcast, he offers a fresh and original take on the issues facing conservatives daily.

List to Signposts with Russell Moore

Follow on Twitter: @drmoore

Let me know if you try any of these podcasts and what you think of them. If you’re an avid podcast listener, please offer your recommendations.

1 thought on “My Favorite Podcasts”

Leave a Reply

