A Short Sampling of Devotional Guides

One of my goals for this year has been to become consistent in my quiet time with the Lord. Part of my problem recently is that I have not been using a daily devotional guide. There’s just something about having a daily guide that helps me with consistency.

I’ve used several over the years and I’ve often heard people complain about not being able to find a good devotional book. Here are a few of my favorites: 

Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence by Sarah Youngjesuscalling

A book full of short, sweet daily readings written from the perspective of Jesus. This book has been wildly popular, so wildly popular that I feel a little odd featuring it. Looking back, Jesus Calling definitely falls into what I call the “cotton candy” version of faith. Much of it is very touchy-feely, happy stuff lacking true substance. Even so, it managed to have a wonderful effect on me and allowed me to understand that I MUST be attentive to the Lord’s voice.

A Young Woman’s Call to Prayer: Talking with God about Your Life by Elizabeth Georgeelizabethgeorge

This. book. I can’t say that this is the most phenomenal book because it just isn’t, but it is the first book that ever read that explained prayer journaling. I have always struggled with the concept of prayer. Something about it is just strange and foreign to me, and I often feel silly sitting in an empty room talking. This devotional really helped me understand the importance of prayer and how to prayer journal. A Young Woman’s Call to Prayer is the reason why I feel comfortable praying and why I journal those prayers everyday.

 streamsinthedesertStreams in the Desert by L.B. Cowman

This is another daily year-long devotional book. There is a reason this is considered a Christian classic. There is such depth and spiritual truth within its pages. Yes, the antiquity of the language can be difficult but it so worth it. I truly recommend it as a great source for encouragement in personal spiritual growth.

Voices of the Faithful Book 2 by Kim P. Davis and Beth Moorevoicesofthefaithful

This is the second in a book series started by one Beth Moore. Us Baptists have a love and hate relationship with Ms. Beth, but I personally have found much encouragement through her ministry. These daily year-long devotional books are wonderful for those with a heart for missions as everyday is a writing from a missionary. I am currently working through the first volume of the series because I loved this one so very much.

 

These are just a few of my favorites that I’ve used over the years. Let me know what some of yours have been.

 

Love and Happy Reading!

Gayle

xoxo

Leave a Reply

